Æ

Carson's Camp Reviews

Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Jul 23, 2022

Sil

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Single person/couple  

Great place… well kept and it shows in every adpect.

Carson's Camp: Thank you so much for taking the time to review Carson's Camp. We are pleased you enjoyed your vacation with us.
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Sep 4, 2021

Mrs

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

We stayed at one of the premium sites on the East side for 7 nights. We loved our campsite as it was very generous in space. A nice sturdy picnic table was on site with a concrete pad. I was completely amazed that when it is said “quiet hours”, it really is quiet! When a whole bunch of new campers pulled in on a Friday night, I was thinking we weren’t going to get any sleep. To my surprise, it was quiet all night! It was great! Facilities were clean and the water issue was fixed promptly (no water at our site, due to an unexpected issue). Prices at the camp store were very reasonable as well as the price of firewood. The $1 for a nice hot shower was reasonable and plenty of time to get cleaned up. The kids had lots of fun biking around, playing on the zip line (huge props to this), playing on the bouncy pillow. They even enjoyed hanging by the lake and my daughter drawing what she saw. The indoor pool was awesome. Kids Enjoyed the slide that was there. Not terribly deep, but enjoyable and was able to cool down. We never got to try the outside pool as it was either closed or was at capacity. Only complaint was you were only allowed 1 car on site. Any additional vehicles had to park in overflow parking at a cost of $4 per entry. I voiced a concern at the office that one site had 3 cars at it and it went with absolutely no concern by staff stating “must be a seasonal”. It was not a seasonal as per the map and all the camping items they had at their site showed they were not a seasonal. I would have preferred to have my vehicle at my site as lugging groceries from overflow was not convenient (spouse had pass in truck as it was registered with the site and he worked during our stay during the day). Not sure what the consequences would’ve been if I didn’t park in overflow parking. The complaint is not about the $4 at all, it is more that nothing is addressed to the ones that should be asked to moved to the overflow parking. Overflow parking is quite “tight” to manoeuvre about if the lot is getting full and if the cars aren’t parked exactly in their parking spot can cause a bottle neck or a maze to get through. All in all we had a good camping experience. Thank you!

Carson's Camp: Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Carson's works hard to insure that children have loads of room to move around our roads by limiting the vehicles allowed on property. I'll definitely be bringing the multi vehicle density up at the next staff meeting as this should have been addressed immediately. Our goal is to be the campground whom stands behind our rules and applies them to everyone equally. I am so glad that you enjoyed your vacation at Carson's.
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Jul 5, 2021

OmieD

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Single person/couple  

We stayed a week in a trailer. The site was nice, good sized and had 2 trees for shade. The end of the parking site needed to have its grass edged as it had grown over the cement a fair ways and that meant poor drainage and puddles and muc at that end..a heck of a mess due to the rain, and more rain. In fact the whole cement patio area should have been edged as there was overgrowth of grass and mud, again lots of rain made it muddier(poor general maintenance of the grass in the site in general, the grass was extremely poor and more dirt than grass. The general grounds were beautiful with pretty gardens. The wifi was terrible. There was a cost for it, but the service was poor, and iphone/iPads wont connect. My S/O was trting to work and kept getting booted off, and everything was slow. He was trying to work on a lap top, so dont expect work quality wifi. Evening service was worse, so forget about watching netflix! This was nit the campgrounds cault, it was GBTel but the campground reports high speed wifi! One laundry room with 3/5 washers and dryers out if order, then one got fixed leaving 3 washers and dryers for 900 campers, some park models would have laundry in them, but consider 100s of others that need to so laundry, it was a big problem, with line up when it opened. But too bad, theres on,y 3 working and the first ones gets started right away. Showers and toilets have short hours. Pool was closed on Saturday, while kid were waiting for it to open..with no notice on the fence as to it being closed, why or when it will open. The bathrooms and shower were also closed since the pool was closed..meaning people had come to shower when they were to be opend at 10am (too late, need to open by7am) only to find they weren't getting a shower. For the cost of this camgroups, i would expect better laudry facilties as well as extended shower hours. It would yave been nice to get a shower after a smokey campfire in the evening. It was reasonablly quiet. The beach was closed, not yet opened by the Sauble Band, so staying at a camground where there was walking distance to the lovely beach, was for naught, since we had to drive and pay for parking to go to the beach.

Carson's Camp: Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at our campground. We are so pleased that you have taken the time to review your stay. Rainy camping vacations can be challenging and last week's substantial rain caused unique issues for you. You are the first camper to mention our concrete decks needing edging, so thanks, we will review that for autumn when the campsites are unoccupied. Limited infrastructure in rural Ontario makes Wifi slower than in urban areas. The third party provider has installed fiber optics to the tower adjacent to Carson’s Camp but from the tower to the campsite, line of sight for signal is a critical factor in band width. The confirmation you should have received when you booked, as well as the reminder sent 3 days prior to your arrival both detail that Carson’s Camp washrooms are closed. Carson's Camp website and facebook all advertise this as well. Every customer is informed that they be responsible for their own toilet facilities. In order to open a swimming pool for camper use, the health unit requires that toilets be open during those hours and so this is what Carson’s Camp does. It's too bad that you drove to the beach and paid for parking as Carson's offers a complimentary shuttle bus which operates 10:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m six days each week until Labour Day. It was unfortunate that the laundry had some machines out of service when you were here. I know that service men have been on site recently an am confident this has been repaired. Thanks for your compliments on our grounds and flowers. Happy Camping.
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Aug 16, 2020

Thecartledgeclan

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

This was the most awesome campsite we've ever been to! So many great activities for kids, a peaceful place and friendly helpful staff! We will definitely be returning next year!

Carson's Camp: Thanks so very much for your outstanding review. We are thrilled you had such a great time and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Jul 31, 2020

TDonnelly

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

This was our first time at, Carson's Camp. Fantastic stay! Very well maintained; especially during Covid Pandemic. My boys ages 9 and 6 loved it there. So much for them to do on the campgrounds that we didn't need to leave. The playground areas were so close that they were able to walk there themselves, and this was the first time my son was able to go off and bike ride safely on his own. My boys have already asked us to book a site there next year.

Carson's Camp: Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your vacation at Carson's. We worked hard to open amenities as the province allowed openings. We installed hand washing stations at all children's play areas and signed seating spaces to ensure physical distance was observed. It is great to know that these efforts enhanced your families fun. All the best. Lisa
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Aug 19, 2019

lovecamping

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

This is our 5th year returning to Carson's, for the first 3 year there was never any issues but the last two years things seem to be changing. Last year we noticed a decline in maintenance and cleaning, but this year was the worst so far. We just spent a week, camping on the East side and the bathrooms were terribly dirty, every day. The shower floors don't look like they are ever cleaned (mildew), there was feces on one of the stall walls-for the entire week, and the floors didn't seem to get cleaned as much as they used to. The secure gate to the beach was broken the entire week and there were only two washing machines working out of 5. The site the last two years did not appear to have been cleaned before we arrived. The fire pits still have garbage in them and the site has litter from the last camper. When we began going to Carson's there were some older ladies that used to clean the bathrooms constantly and took a lot of pride in their work. The outdoor pool does not seem to be clean-always had a cloudiness to it. The rules say no golf carts but there are people with them-grandfathering should not be allowed. Not sure about next year, we do love the beach and the site are large but the campground needs some TLC.

Carson's Camp: We are very sorry to hear that your most recent stays with us have not lived up to your previous experiences. We pride ourselves on our bathroom cleanliness so your report is very shocking. We have called an immediate meeting of the cleaning team to specifically address your report and our two senior cleaning staff that you mentioned who have been with us for many years will oversee all necessary corrections. Reporting of customer concerns are encouraged. Please let us know when you notified the office so that we may track that report. It is unfortunate that the mechanized side of our beach gate was not operational and that the beach gate had to be operated manually. The technology involved in both the mechanical gate and the commercial washing machines require specialized technicians so we fall to their mercy for repair schedules. After 52 years as a leader in the North American camping industry, Carsons strives to provide, through its facilities and employees an exceptional quality, family oriented, recreation and camping experience. Carsons Camp Limited
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Jul 14, 2019

cathy

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

Second time returning to this campsite. As a family with children, this campsite fits our needs with multiple swimming pools and so close to the beach, clean facilities and well maintained grounds. We returned back because it was so super quiet in the east campsite last year. Unfortunately, our experience this time round was less than stellar due to noisy campers next to us who were part of a larger multi campsite group who got together each night and made a ton of noise. They looked to be seasoned campers with their travel trailer and setup, so one would think that they would know how to read the rules of the campground, not really. Radio on all day outdoors and guitars and loud campfire singing well past quiet time (11pm). Front desk said they would take care of it and monitor/patrol for the following evening and we did see the golf cart patrol roll past a few times, but they did not enforce their own rules. (after 1am and still very loud conversations around the campsite) Yes we do love the place and enjoy the peace and quiet, so maybe our expectations for fellow campers to adhere to the rules to allow everyone to enjoy the same respect would be nice, so we will not be returning next season unfortunately. Even our kids were not happy with the noise issue and it it kept them and us awake each evening.

Carson's Camp: We are very sorry to hear your camping experience was not what you have experienced in the past and we would like to thank you so much for providing this feedback. It is always our goal to ensure silence after 11 pm for the enjoyment of all customers. Unfortunately this is the first time that management has heard of this problem. We do appreciate your acknowledgment that this is not the norm that you have experienced in seasons past. Could you please provide us with the location of the campfire. Night Patrol has had one or two different hot spots to watch so far this season. While we are sorry you will not be back in 2020, we hope your other vacations with us will encourage you to visit us again in future summers. Carsons Camp Limited
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Jul 20, 2018

Christine

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

This was our third year returning to Carson’s because of how amazing it was. Very clean spacious sites. We stay up by the indoor pool, back in sites. Like them the best. The pull through sites have no privacy at all. East side outdoor pool is very green and foggy. West side is beautiful. You can walk uptown in 20 minutes and to the beach in 5. There is a shuttle to the beach but we won’t take it anymore as last year we waited to be picked up for over an hour. Finally we called the office and were told the bus driver went home early that day. So we had no way back with all our beach stuff. One of the staff members drive their own car and came and got us. Will return next year.

Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Jul 15, 2018

Glenda

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

Our 2nd stay with Carson's. Love the campground. Great for families. Beautiful clean sites - paved for the trailer, nice firepit, lots of room and private with hedges between most sites. Paved streets (all named) for biking, roller blading, etc. Our stay was during the fire ban (the entire county) so no fires during our stay, but we found things to do. Definitely will be back. Only con - splash pad required parental supervision for our 9 year old (or a 16yr old). We have a 9 and 12 year old. We trust they can go to the splash pad as they can the park. The pool we understand. But they like their independence.

Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Jul 13, 2018

Ms

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

Always an excellent camping experience at Carsons Camp. The sites are well-maintained and just private enough to not feel like you’re even camping next to someone. Beautiful landscaping and excellent location. A+++

Carson's Camp: Thanks for reviewing us. I will pass along your comments to all the staff that work so hard to ensure you have a great family vacation in a clean campground.
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Jul 7, 2018

Ms

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

The best camping place so far! Very safe for kids to bike and walk. The fact that golf carts are no longer allowed makes the place very enjoyable and safe for the kids to roam around as they wish. The pool is a lot of fun and the covered playground is a go to no matter the weather. The place is very clean and well maintained. We had a blast!

Carson's Camp: Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for letting others know what they can enjoy if they choose to camp with us. Lisa
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Jul 21, 2017

Ted

I was there as a: Seasonal Camper, Family with children  

Carson's camp in Sauble beach is the best campground of many we have stayed at. Collene leads the cleaning staff and does a remarkable job of ensuring the facilities are always kept very clean. The washrooms ( which are most important) are cleaned 4 times a day. Needless to say they are always super clean. All roads within the campground are paved and your trailer is parked on cement pads. The entire campground is very well maintained with a friendly staff.

Carson's Camp: Thanks so much for your kind words. I will be sure that Colleen and her team receive your accolades. ;-}
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Sep 5, 2016

Happycamper

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

This is one of those memorable camping experiences that the kids beg you to repeat!! The staff and owners go above and beyond to make it the best experience possible. Thank you!

Carson's Camp: You are welcome. We hope to see you again in the future.
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Aug 22, 2016

RJRoy

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Single person/couple  

We return to Carson's every year, one week in July and another in August. This is one of our favorite places 'in the world' and we have been fortunate to travel to many wonderful locations throughout North America and the Caribbean. The proximity to the beach and downtown Sauble is perfect. The sites are a very comfortable size and well maintained. The washrooms are great and regularly maintained/cleaned several times throughout the day. The staff are always smiling and ready to share any information they can.

Carson's Camp: Thank you so much. All our staff work hard to ensure we provide an exceptional quality, family oriented, recreation and camping experience. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know we are doing a great job.
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Aug 17, 2016

Mike

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Single person/couple  

Very clean and well tended campsites and facilities. Very pleasant, knowledgeable and cooperative staff; it was always a pleasure to meet or work with them. Very comprehensive facilities; indoor and outdoor pools, etc. Inexpensive availability of propane and firewood on site. They published an extensive list of programmed activities for seasonal residents, adults and children. We were not looking for these activities so I cannot comment directly however, there seemed to be happy laughing kids at the appropriate times and places.

Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Aug 3, 2016

71

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

We really enjoyed our stay at Carson's Camp...the place is spotless and staff is very friendly. My two negative points would be as follows: 1) speed limit - I find for a campground 20 km/h is way too fast...in every campground we have done over the last 18 years, the maximum is between 8 and 10 km/h and that is fast enough, especially with lots of young children on sites. 2) laundromat - the fact that it is across the street and that there are only 4 washers/4 dryers for 700 camp sites Thank you. Janik

Carson's Camp: Thanks for reviewing our campground! We hope other campers will benefit from your experiences here at Carson's. We are always adding new features and amenities and would love to add another laundry in West Park. Sadly there is a municipal by-law expressly forbidding laudromats in Sauble Beach. You may have noticed there isn't one in the town either. We are lucky to have the one we've got and that only exists because it is older than the by-law. Thank you for your comments on our campground we will take them under advisement. Carson's Camp
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Jul 18, 2015

MMP

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

Carsons Camp was very well taken care of, many amenities- ie- laundry, indoor/outdoor pools,workout room, many garbage enclosures. 15 min walk to sauble... ( however you have to walk on shoulder of highway) We stayed on the east side. nice spacious site with a great fire pit and shrub trees around. We were close to the zip line/play ground/ washrooms . They have a shuttle that will take you to the beach too. In front of us were many pull through sites- they however are open with no shade and privacy if that's your thing. I would suggest to take your bikes. If i were going back to sauble YES ! I would stay at Carsons Camp again! It was nice, and clean and quiet. Not many people stayed up late for fires, or were up early..it was nice quiet stay. we enjoyed ourselves.

Carson's Camp: We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our campground so others can learn from your experiences. We do hope to see you again in the future. Please everyone be advised that Southampton Parkway is a county road connecting Sauble Beach and Southampton. We advise campers wishing to walk to town to use the beach access gate and walk along 2nd Avenue. This is a low traffic town road. The county road is quite busy and a 70 km speed limit. Always reference our Helpful Hints and Other Information on the back of our campground map for information about our features and facilities.
Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

May 15, 2015

mgwp

I was there as a: Seasonal Camper, Family with children  

Excellent campground, close to the beach

Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Apr 27, 2015

Karen

I was there as a: Seasonal Camper, Single person/couple  

Spent the 2014 season at Carson's Camp. Was not disappointed. Staff are always friendly and helpful, keeping the park maintained at a high standard. It is a family focused camp ground. No late night partying will be tolerated. which suited our needs. Looking forward to the 2015 season.

Activities:
Planned
Unplanned
Campsites:
Spacious
Snug
Sites:
Shady
Sunny
Service:
Okay
Amazing
Cleanliness:
Okay
Amazing

Apr 27, 2015

MichelenDave

I was there as a: Overnight RV'er, Family with children  

Carson's is a very friendly and clean campground. We love the activities available and the friends we have made and spend at least 3 weeks during the summer monthes.